Soccer 2011-2012

SOCCER 2011/2012

The 2011/2012 season has been a productive one for Rochestown. Even though no silverware was won this year, our teams have performed magnificently throughout the year and have further enhanced our reputation as being a major force in top level Munster soccer at all age groups. We had over 150 students try out for all the teams this year, showing the growing popularity of the sport within the school. We also now have 6 coaches involved with all teams which show the commitment of the staff towards building on the incredible potential within the school.

Our seniors made it to the Quarter finals of the Senior Cup and were very unlucky not to progress. This is the first year for many years that the team has progressed this far and that is a credit to the seniors of 2011/2012. There were many great performances throughout the year from all panel members and we would like to particularly congratulate Darren O Keefe (Crosshaven FC) on getting the Senior Player of the Year. His goals and performances were a feature throughout.

The U17 team also had a very good year. This team has many special players with great ability but it is their work rate that is particularly impressive. In the Munster Junior Cup, Roco saw off Carrigaline, Spioraid Naomh and Ballincollig Community School before eventually going out to All-Ireland winners St.Aidans in the Quarter Final. In the Cork Cup, we also went out at the Quarter Final stage where we were unlucky to lose out against a strong Christians side. Congratulations to Player of the Year Sean O Mahony (Corrinthians FC) who was outstanding this year in midfield.

The Under 15 team had a short season this year and was a season where one or two injuries and some bad luck played a part. Spioraid Naomh caused Roco to exit the Munster Cup in Round 2 and Carrigaline were the victors in Round 2 of the Cork Cup. Well done to Graham Egan (Carrigaline FC) on winning Player of the Year.

Our first years have showed us that there is great hope for the future with some excellent displays throughout the year. Even though Pres brought an end to their season in Round 2 of the First Year Munster Cup, there are some fantastic players who we are looking forward to coaching over the next few years. Well done to Robert Slevin (Carrigaline FC) on winning Player of the Year.

Special Mentions

Special mentions must be given to David King and Eoghan Daly of Avondale, and Ben McCauliffe of Corrinthians who were regular players for the Cork U16 team this season. The very best of luck to them in the All-Ireland Final on May 27. Also, George Gill of Springfield played a significant role for Cork U15 in getting to the Munster Final this year. Finally, well done to James Holland of Corrinthians who will play in the All-Ireland Final with the Cork U13 team on May 27.

We would also like to acknowledge the success of some of our students with their teams outside the school. Well done to Ben MCauliffe, Mark Dolan and Ross Donovan of Corrinthians who did a league and cup double at U16 level. Congratulations also to Graham Egan, Robert Slevin, David Andrews and captain, Daniel O Flaherty of Carrigaline who won the U14 Cork cup this year. Well done also to Cork Cup U13 cup winners Matthew McCauliffe and James Holland of Corrinthians. James also scored in the final and picked up the man of the match award.

We would also like to wish Eoghan Daly the very best of luck in his new school next year. Eoghan is one of the biggest prospects in Cork schoolboy soccer and will be missed but we wish him all the success in his new school.

New Pitch for 2012

We are delighted to announce that from the beginning of the 2012/2013 academic year, Rochestown will have a new soccer pitch on the school grounds which will make a big difference to students and teachers alike. Thank you to Mr.O.Mahuna and Mr O’ Murchu for their hard work in making this possible and we look forward to Roco playing in front of their home crowd next year.