Munster Debating Champions 2017

It has been another incredible year for debating in Rochestown College. Congratulations to Ronan Daly and Padraig Malone who won The Munster Schools Debating Championship.

Finalists in 2014, the school has now won the Munster Championship 3 years in a row. It is a remarkable achievement.

Reigning champions Ronan Daly and Padraig Malone retained the cup in UCC on April 2nd, opposing the motion “That this house would support the demise of religion”.  They will compete on April 15th in UCC once again, for the All Ireland Schools Debating Championship, which the school previously won in 2014 and 2015. This run of success is unprecedented for the College, who before 2015 had only won the competition once, in 1982 since the Championship began in 1979.

Ronan and PAdraig